Wonder Woman Cake


Wonder Woman Cake

My birthday was in early November, and we had a dessert party to celebrate. When I asked my children what theme of cake I should make (me), they insisted on Wonder Woman. I have always loved Wonder Woman – if you read her back story and history, she’s a pretty kick-ass role model for women. She’s strong, true, good and powerful, and don’t even get me started on her invisible jet!  Arguably the coolest transportation ever conceived for a comic book hero.

Wonder Woman's Invisible Jet

I don’t have girls, but if I did, I’d be pushing the Wonder Woman agenda over the Disney princess stable. Seriously – there’s nothing wrong with wanting to be a princess when you’re a wee girl, but there’s also something to be gained by a little takin’ out the trash too. Wonder Woman is a role model that is at once beautiful,  strong, and can kick serious butt, and that’s good for girls. Heck – good for any age. When I was a kid, I used to watch Lynda Carter in the 70’s  TV series The New Adventures of Wonder Woman – and she was everything I wanted to be when I grew up.

Lynda-Carter_Wonder-Woman_664

Even more, I love the fact that I had convinced my kids, for just a while, that I was Wonder Woman. And it’s still a mystery as to why we’ve never been seen in the same room together. Hmm. Interesting.

This entry was posted in Cake Decorating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wonder Woman Cake

  1. I love the cake, I love Wonder Woman and I believe we own the same costume!

  2. Pingback: The year of invisible infrastructure

Leave a Reply

