How-to: The Tintin Cake


Some time ago, I made the above Tintin cake. It was one of the first cakes I’d ever done that involved painting with food colour directly onto rolled fondant. I get a lot of questions about how I did the above cake, so here’s a little instructional on my process, which I documented, but have never written about.

The first step was to establish the cartoons to duplicate. They were colour copied on a photocopier from the Tintin books.

Second step was to roll and cut out the fondant to the shape of the cartoon cell.

Then I started sketching the outlines of the cells, and the cartoon itself. 

I guess looking back, it’s kind of a crazy process – and before you say it, I am definitely AWARE that I could have printed these cartoons onto edible rice paper.  I know that option exists, so if painting miniscule cartoons onto fondant is not your thing, by all means, contact a local bakery and see what they can do for you.


Here’s another couple of cells. First the sketched outline of all the main characters.

Add in some colour – lightest colours to darkest.

 

Once all the colouring is mostly done, I go back over the outlines to make them pop a bit more. 

The final product was actually a couple of months of work – because fondant doesn’t go bad, I could store it easily, out of sunlight of course, and it was completely fine. It was nice to take the time to do it right. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Cake Decorating, Geek Cake and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How-to: The Tintin Cake

  1. mydearbakes says:

    This is a very creative bake! I love it! =D

  2. Ev says:

    That is incredible!!! So much work – you must have so much patience! Amazing.

Leave a Reply

