Less Talk, More Mud – Doing the Seattle Tough Mudder, 2012


Have you ever wanted an experience that changes the way you look at yourself, your friends, and life in general? If the answer is yes, I would highly recommend you sign up to do a Tough Mudder.

Left to Right – Mark Graham, Matt Rayner, Scott Sadgrove, Laurie Kinsman, Yours Truly, James S., and Dave R.

This blog is usually about making things, whether pottery, cake, whatever. I like a good challenge – usually I stick to creative challenges.  If it’s never been done – let’s give it a go. When I heard about the Tough Mudder challenge for the first time this year, in January, I was like, “doods, that is way too intense for me”. I have claustrophobia issues. I have a heart condition. I’m a 40 year old working mom of two boys under 7.  And I can’t run more than 1 km without dying. But the seed was planted. The mental challenge. “Maybe I *can* do it”.  So I trained, ran, lifted weights, tore my calf muscle, all alongside making cakes and pottery, working full time and taking care of my awesome kids and husband. I jumped into lakes, trail ran with my buddies on the weekend. And it all came down to the start line on Saturday.

EPIC, is the only word I have left to describe how I feel now. It’s a combination of “Holy Shit I can’t believe I did that”, and one of the most humbling experiences of my life. To be a part of such an awesome team, I absolutely could not have done it without them. The only experience I can compare this to is giving birth. But just like that, once it’s over, you want to crumble with joy and the sheer awesomeness of having done something you actually didn’t think you could do. Talk about confidence booster. I’ve got bragging rights for LIFE, and here are the photos to prove it.

The photos speak for themselves – thanks to Amber and Melissa, our awesome spectators for taking these pictures. If it weren’t for the pictures, I may not believe I accomplished this with my team.

Let me tell you something else.

This morning, my son asked me if he could bring me to school for Show and Tell.

That there makes every dent, scratch, and bruise worth it.  That’s Real Life.

Put your mind to it. Believe in yourself. Get a team of bad-ass friends. And if you want bragging rights for the rest of your life, go to http://www.toughmudder.com and sign yourself up. Right now. Overcome your fears. You will never regret it. If I can do it, so can you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Less Talk, More Mud – Doing the Seattle Tough Mudder, 2012

  1. The Landy says:

    Great work..I just did one here in Sydney…yo going again????

  2. Karen Allen says:

    Really inspiring!!!!! Love it!!!

  3. Pingback: Less Talk, More Mud – Doing the Seattle Tough Mudder, 2012 | Groovy Craft Chick

Leave a Reply

