It only takes 7 minutes…


Ok, so I like to bake cookies, that’s no secret. Sadly, (for them) two of my colleagues can not eat said cookies, due to one’s dietary restrictions and the other’s vegetarianism (don’t get me started!). In any case, I leaned pretty heavily on the graphic designers last week for a secret project, (I’ll blog about it later gaters), and felt I needed to say thanks a heck of a lot to them through baking. So I made chocolate wacky cupcakes, with seven minute icing. Yum! These two things until exactly this moment, were in my mind separate experiences. Chocolate wacky cake is kind of a universal recipe that was (according to at least my family legend) developed in the 30’s when ingredients like eggs and milk were not as readily available. Thus the best chocolate cake recipe EVA. Well, maybe not as good as bittersweet flourless chocolate cake with raspberry coulis, but if an 8 year old can whip it up, that’s good, right? So – the thing about 7 minute icing, is that in my head, it always belonged on an angel food cake. I had an angel food cake with 7 minute icing every year for my birthday since I was, well, about as old as I am in this picture.

Here follows a note to my sister in law Karen, who I know is the one person who does read this blog: I am the one in pink, on the left, with the big finger of icing!! (You know how those Dorothy Hamill haircuts could be so confusing in the 70’s).

So I made cupcakes, and yes, they were as good as they look in this picture. Really. You should make em too, and make somebody happy.


Chocolate Wacky Cake

1 1/2 cups sifted flour

1 cup white sugar

1/2 tsp sale

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

3 giant heaping huge tablespoons of the best cocoa powder you can find

1 tbsp vanilla

1 tbsp vinegar

5 tbsp canola oil

1 cup warm water.

Sift dry ingredients (or don’t, sometimes I don’t). Add liquids into centre, give it a good stir. Pour into cupcake tins or a buttered cake pan. Bake 30 minutes, or for cupcakes, maybe about 20.

Seven-Minute Frosting (from Epicurious.com)

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/3 cup cold water

2 egg whites

1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar or 2 teaspoons light-colored corn syrup (I used corn syrup)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1. Combine the sugar, water, egg whites, and cream of tartar in the top of a double boiler. Using an electric mixer on low speed, beat the ingredients for 30 seconds to combine.

2. Boil a small amount of water in the bottom of the double boiler. Place the top of the double boiler, with the frosting ingredients, on top. Cook the frosting on medium heat, beating constantly with the mixer on high speed, for about 7 minutes, or until the frosting forms stiff peaks when the beaters are lifted. Remove the top of the double boiler from the bottom and, using a spoon or rubber spatula, stir in the vanilla extract. Beat the frosting for 2 to 3 minutes more, or until it is spreadable. Allow the frosting to cool; it should be slightly warm or at room temperature when you use it. Discard any leftovers. Store frosted cake in a cool, dry place until ready to serve.

This entry was posted in Baking, cookies, food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

