Ritchie Bros. Monopoly, Cake Edition


I made a cake for a colleague this week, a customized Monopoly board. The streets/avenues were changed to reflect either a place or saying that had personal meaning for him. I swapped out the railroads for pieces of equipment that are common at our Ritchie Bros. auctions – a skid steer, wheel loader, crawler tractor, and an excavator. Where the Parker Brothers logo is, I slipped in a little Ritchie Bros. branding. The playing pieces are silvered sold cones we use on the ramp – I had to stick them and the dice on toothpicks to paint. This board game translated really well into cake – the flat painting and the 3D pieces are quite lovely, I think.  I really love painting – it is beyond me why I continue to paint in a medium that is edible instead of permanent, but I guess that’s another blog entry.  One of the nicest parts of staying up really late painting, is that I am totally caught up on what’s happening in the Tour de France. In any case, this was a really fun cake to make, and I’m glad it was well received. I had the cake shot professionally by our in-house photographer, so pictures of the assembled cake will follow. But now? Sleep!



This entry was posted in Baking, board game, Cake Decorating, painting, Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

