Apple Blossom Cake


Sometimes, you just get to Friday, and just feel like something different. I had an intensely creative week at work, inventing all sorts of difficult projects that I will somewhere down the line have to execute. I got to this Friday afternoon, and it was all I could do to peel my kids out of the car, make a pizza, and snuggle on the couch. Which is terrifying territory to be in when you have a cake to build for the next day, and you’ve already had two glasses of wine. So, I just wasn’t feeling the love for making a fashion cake. And seeing as how the “job”, as it is, was “hey, I’ll make a cake for Doris”, and the “client” was “cool – make whatever you want”, I don’t see as how it really matters that we ended up here. Because I LOVE this cake. I love the colours, I love that it was easy, it took me a couple of hours and yes-thank-you-very-much I will be in bed at a decent hour tonight. I love making cakes like this, because the flowers cover any kind of flaws in the sugarpaste, and I’m not going to lie to you, there are flaws. Maybe it’s a Friday night thing, maybe it’s because I was distracted with watching a show about recreating Damascus swords (!?). In any case, I am looking forward to going to dinner with my girlfriends and presenting my friend with this cake, because I would be thrilled with it. Happy 50th Doris!

This entry was posted in Baking, Cake Decorating and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

