Craving Montaigut-le-Blanc



When I was 18, I went to a summer painting school in the Auvergne region of France. It was a pretty amazing experience, and it began a long-lasting love affair with all things french. Somewhere I have a few of the canvases that I actually did produce between the wild behaviour one would expect from an teenager on their first solo trip to a foreign country (oh, the shame!).

While I was there, I met a girl my age who lived in the village – her father owned the local Charcuterie. They took me under their wing, and into their home, and I never forgot them. It took fourteen years, but I finally had the opportunity to go back to Montaigut a few years ago, and visit with the family I met. I never imagined one could love the very air of a place as much as I love this little town in the middle of the Auvergne, but for some reason this is one of the places I could very easily call home. So when I got back, I did a painting of the view from the top of the village – looking out towards the sunflower fields. It’s just a simple water colour, but I can just imagine sitting down to food and wine with friends. It makes me happy.

This entry was posted in food, France, Saint Nectaire. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Craving Montaigut-le-Blanc

  1. Karo says:

    I think i know this french gril !!!!!!!! Lolol !!
    Many thanks for your card and very happy new year to you too !!
    Nice to see the boys , Pierre is going to be 10 next month , we can’t beleive it !
    Hope to talk to you very soon sis !

    Take care

    Love to you all

Leave a Reply

