Jacomy Cookies are all that


When I was a kid, there were two recipes we learned to make pretty early on – one was something we called Chocolate Wacky Cake, and the other was Jacomy Cookies. I’ll leave the cake recipe for another blog entry.  Where the name for Jacomy Cookies came from, I cannot tell you, but it’s been a standard family recipe for over 40 years.  But here’s the weird thing about this humble chocolate chip cookie.  Everyone in my family has the same recipe, but if you lined up one cookie from each batch, they would all taste different.

Now I believe a chocolate chip cookie is one best shared, so for about the past ten years, I’ve kept a cookie jar at work, and try to fill it occasionally. As a result, I have been led to believe that I perhaps have the secret to the best chocolate chip cookie in the world. Possible – perhaps… What I do know, is that after years of practice, I know that I make the recipe the exact same way, and get the same results every time.

When I was taking the picture for this entry tonight, my husband asked me if tonight’s blog was going to be about cookies. I said yes, then he saw the recipe card in my hand. He breathlessly asked if I was going to share the recipe, and if I didn’t need to get family permission to do so. I might add that breathlessness is not a characteristic my husband displays often – perhaps I should do drastic things like this more often!  Such reverence from a non-baker and cookie lover. So, I’m going to give you the recipe. And for that one person I know who does read this blog, take notes and rejoice! But if you make it, and don’t follow the recipe to the T, don’t blame me.

Jacomy Cookies

2 cups brown sugar

1 cup unsalted butter

2 large eggs

2 cups whole oats (not quick oats)

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp soda

1 tbsp pure vanilla

2 cups dark chocolate chips

1 cup craisins

In the bowl of a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat brown sugar with butter until creamy and smooth. Add the eggs, and beat until well mixed.  In a separate bowl, add all dry ingredients, the chocolate chips and the craisins.  Mix well. Add the vanilla to the wet ingredients, mix briefly, then add the dry ingredients and beat together until the dough is well mixed.  I bake my cookies on baking sheets covered with parchment paper – and for my oven, about 9 minutes, but basically I bake them until the dough is no longer shiny on the top.

Addendum! I just looked at the photo of the recipe card below, and I need to say that I do NOT add everything in that is on that card, so if you can even read the card, please don’t follow it.  I mean, seriously – who in their right mind REALLY wants to eat a chocolate chip cookie with wheat germ in it!? Or sunflower seeds? Seriously. Save that for healthy cookies.

This entry was posted in Baking, cookies, food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jacomy Cookies are all that

  1. "The One" says:

    A top secret family recipe would draw anyone out of the shadows, particularly one for cookies! I made sure to copy it before I go to bed…before your husband tells your family you gave away the crown jewels and they knock some sense into you!

Leave a Reply

